Asia Pacific Glaucoma Society – APGS

The Asia-Pacific Society (APGS) was established to facilitate contact between glaucoma specialists in the region, to encourage collaborative research and service projects, to increase the opportunities for exchange of skills and knowledge in this rapidly advancing field, and to assist our comprehensive ophthalmological colleagues and other eye care workers (whether medically trained or not) to be up to date with advances in all aspects of glaucoma diagnosis and management.

Glaucoma is the cause of considerable blindness in Asia, and is associated with specific problems in this region: the epidemiology and natural history of this disease differs from that in developed countries elsewhere. In addition, people suffering from Glaucoma in Asia, may have different therapeutic outcomes from their western counterparts.

Contact us

This is a past event. Registration is closed. View other Asia Pacific Glaucoma Society – APGS events.

Event Details

APGS President's Summit

The objective of this Summit is to provide a platform for APGS and the national society leaders in the region to exchange and identify how collaboration could be enhanced.


August 7, 2022

Main Schedule

5:00 PM - 5:05 PM
APGS President welcome speech and introduction
5:05 PM - 5:10 PM
APGS Secretary General remarks
5:10 PM - 5:15 PM
Launch the presentations by each national society
Public Relations Chair
5:15 PM - 5:55 PM
Presentations from individual national societies
5:55 PM - 6:00 PM
Closing remarks, moderated by APGS President


Keith Martin

Current Chair

George Kong

Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital

Hasan Shaheed

President, Bangladesh Glaucoma Society

Ningli Wang (Director of Beijing Tongren Eye Center)

Ningli Wang

Director of Beijing Tongren Eye Center

Xiulan Zhang

Prof. at Zhongshan Ophthalmic Cancer, Sun Yet-Set University

Clement Tham

Prof at Hong Kong Eye Hospital

Siu Ping Hui

Convener at Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital

Virna Dwi Octariana Asrory

Head of Indonesia glaucoma society at Cipto Mangunkusumo Hospital

Dr Fifin Luthfia Rahmi, MS., SpM (K) Fifin Luthfia Rahmi

Vice Chairman at Universitas Diponegoro

Makoto Aihara

Professor and chair at University Of Tokyo

Kazuhisa Sugiyama

Secretary General at Kanazawa University Graduate School Of Medical Science

Chankee PARK


Jin Wook Jeoung

Professor / Secretary General, Korean Glaucoma Society at Seoul National University Hospital

Liza Sharmini Ahmad Tajudin

Universiti Sains Malaysia

Nilo Vincent Florcruz (Associate Professor at University of the Philippines Manila)

Nilo Vincent Florcruz

Associate Professor at University of the Philippines Manila

Rainier Victor Covar Rainier Victor Covar

Philippine General Hospital/ The Medical City

Leonard Yip

Shamira Perera

Singapore National Eye Centre

K.A. Salvin

Pradeepa Kurukulasuriya Siriwardena

Dr. / Chairperson, Glaucoma Interest Group at Ministry of Health, Sri Lanka

Samanmalie Wewalwala Senerath

Dr. at College of Ophthalmologists of Sri Lanka

Henry Shen-Lih Chen

Secretary-General at Wgc2015-G-3-159

Boonsong Wanichwecharungruang

President at Rajavithi Hospital

Yanin Suwan

Ramathinodi hospital

Iftekher Md. Munir

Secretary Genera, Bangladesh Glaucoma Society

Tan Do (MD. PhD./ Chief of Glaucoma Department at Vietnam National Eye Hospital)

Tan Do

MD. PhD./ Chief of Glaucoma Department at Vietnam National Eye Hospital